You are viewing an archived web page captured at 18:00:51 Jan 11, 2019, which is part of the National Records of Scotland Web Archive. The information on this web page may be out of date. See all captures of this archived page. Archived web pages you visit here may leave cookies in your browser. These are not owned, controlled, or used by NRS. NRS do use cookies, including Google Analytics, to monitor site usage and performance. These can be managed in your browser settings. Find out more about cookies.
Loading media information
Large Medium small Local Government Boundary Commission for Scotland Home Boundary Commission for Scotland

Past Reviews

Electoral reviews

Since 1995, Scotland has been divided into 32 unitary local government areas.

1995 onwards: unitary authorities
wards effective from 4 May 2017 Fifth Statutory Reviews of Electoral Arrangements  
wards 2007 to 2017 Fourth Statutory Reviews of Electoral Arrangements maps
Interim Reviews of Electoral Arrangements 2010  
wards 1999 to 2007 Third Statutory Reviews of Electoral Arrangements maps
wards 1995 to 1999 Formation electoral arrangements in 1995 maps

Between 1974 and 1995, mainland Scotland was divided into 9 local government regions, each of which was divided into a number of districts. The islands areas each had a single-tier local authority. For the regions and islands areas, there were 3 successive sets of electoral divisions. For the districts, there were 2 sets of district wards.

1974 to 1995: regions, districts and islands areas
regions districts islands
1994-95 not used 1994-95 Second Statutory Reviews of Electoral Arrangements
1982-94 1980/84
to 1995
1978-94 Initial Statutory Reviews of Electoral Arrangements
1974-82 1974 to
1974-78 Formation electoral arrangements in 1974

Administrative area reviews

In addition to our reviews of local government electoral areas, we have also carried out a number of reviews of the external boundaries of local government areas.

Unitary authorities  
since our Fourth Statutory Reviews 2007 onwards
between our Third and Fourth Statutory Reviews 1995 to 2006
Regions, districts and islands areas  
between our Initial and Second Statutory Reviews 1977 to 1994
before our Initial Statutory Reviews 1973 to 1976

We have also produced a summary list of all our review reports which you can download as a PDF file.

Thistle House
91 Haymarket Terrace
Edinburgh, EH12 5HD
Phone: 0131 244 2001