You are viewing an archived web page captured at 18:00:53 Jan 11, 2019, which is part of the National Records of Scotland Web Archive. The information on this web page may be out of date. See all captures of this archived page. Archived web pages you visit here may leave cookies in your browser. These are not owned, controlled, or used by NRS. NRS do use cookies, including Google Analytics, to monitor site usage and performance. These can be managed in your browser settings. Find out more about cookies.
Loading media information
Large Medium small Boundary Commission for Scotland Home Local Government Boundary Commission for Scotland

The Commission - functions and appointments

Functions and appointments | Contact us | Current members | Past members | Copyright


The Boundary Commission for Scotland is responsible for reviews of UK Parliament constituencies in Scotland.

We are an Advisory Non-departmental Public Body sponsored and wholly funded by the Office of the Secretary of State for Scotland. We are independent and non-political. Our constitution, duties and powers are detailed in the Parliamentary Constituencies Act 1986, and in Schedule 1 to the Scotland Act 1998. Full details of the legislation surrounding our work are available on the Legislation page of this website.

Our Chairman is the Speaker of the House of Commons, although the Speaker takes no part in our proceedings. Our work is led by the Deputy Chairman who is a Court of Session judge appointed by the Lord President of the Court of Session. The 2 other members are appointed by the Secretary of State for Scotland through a public appointments process. In addition, the Director General of Ordnance Survey and the Registrar General for Scotland help us as ex-officio Assessors.

We are supported in our work by a small Secretariat.


Appointments to the Boundary Commission for Scotland are made under Schedule 1 to the Parliamentary Constituencies Act 1986. The Act specifies that our ex-officio Chair is the Speaker of the House of Commons, as is the case for the parliamentary boundary commissions in England, Wales and Northern Ireland.

Our Deputy Chairman is a judicial appointment made by the Lord President of the Court of Session. This post is unpaid.

The two other Commissioners are appointed by the Secretary of State for Scotland, following procedures approved by the Commissioner for Public Appointments, for a period of 4 years, with the possibility of renewal. These posts receive a daily fee, plus expenses. It is usual for vacant posts to be advertised in the national press and be subject to a process of selection and interview by a panel including the Deputy Chairman, a representative of the Office of the Secretary of State for Scotland and a representative of the Commissioner for Public Appointments. The final appointment is made by the Secretary of State for Scotland.

Thistle House
91 Haymarket Terrace
Edinburgh, EH12 5HD
Phone: 0131 244 2001