You are viewing an archived web page captured at 13:40:45 Apr 15, 2021, which is part of the National Records of Scotland Web Archive. The information on this web page may be out of date. See all captures of this archived page. Archived web pages you visit here may leave cookies in your browser. These are not owned, controlled, or used by NRS. NRS do use cookies, including Google Analytics, to monitor site usage and performance. These can be managed in your browser settings. Find out more about cookies.
Loading media information

HRH Duke of Edinburgh, 10 June 1921 to 9 April 2021 Read more

Scotland CAN DO Innovation Forum


This group has now been reformatted as the Scotland CAN DO: Business Innovation Forum

We created the Scotland CAN DO: Innovation Forum in May 2015 to help improve Scotland's innovation performance.

Led by the Minister for Business, Innovation and Energy and the Minister for Further Education, Higher Education and Science, the Forum will:

  • set objectives for innovation in Scotland
  • develop a set of shared outcomes
  • scrutinise progress towards delivery

Related groups


  • Paul Wheelhouse MSP, Minister for Business, Innovation and Energy (Co-Chair)
  • Shirley-Anne Somerville MSP, Minister for Further Education, Higher Education and Science (Co-Chair)
  • Jamie Coleman, Codebase Scotland Ltd
  • James Dunbar, New Start Highland
  • Prof Particia Findlay, Scottish Centre for Employment Research
  • Prof Dame Anne Glover, Aberdeen University
  • Will Hutton, The Big Innovation Centre
  • Sandy Kennedy, Entrepreneurial Scotland
  • Prof Irene McAra-McWilliam, School of Design at the Glasgow School of Art
  • Prof Andrew Morris, Chief Scientist, Scottish Government
  • Geoff Mulgan, Nesta
  • Derek Norwood, Devro Plc
  • Erin Platts, Silicon Valley Bank
  • Ken Scott, Alexander Dennis Limited
  • Dr Tracy Shimmield, SRSL Ltd
  • John Waddell, Archangel Informal Investment Ltd

Partner and delivery organisations:

  • Liz Ditchburn, Scottish Government (Deputy Chair)
  • Kevin Baughan, Innovate UK
  • Melfort Campbell, Innovation Scotland Forum – Chair
  • Donna Chisholm, Highlands & Islands Enterprise
  • Cathie Cowan, Health Innovation Partnership Board – Chair
  • Stuart Fancey, Scottish Funding Council
  • Jim Watson, Scottish Enterprise