You are viewing an archived web page captured at 09:31:04 Mar 01, 2022, which is part of the National Records of Scotland Web Archive. The information on this web page may be out of date. See all captures of this archived page. Archived web pages you visit here may leave cookies in your browser. These are not owned, controlled, or used by NRS. NRS do use cookies, including Google Analytics, to monitor site usage and performance. These can be managed in your browser settings. Find out more about cookies.
Loading media information

Website survey

We want your feedback on the Scottish Parliament website. Take our 6 question survey now

Skip to main content

Language: English / Gàidhlig


Members of the Scottish Parliament (MSPs)

Current party balance

There are 129 Members of the Scottish Parliament. They're currently split into the following parties.

Scottish National Party – 64 MSPs

Party leader - Nicola Sturgeon

Scottish Conservative & Unionist Party – 31 MSPs

Party leader - Douglas Ross

Scottish Labour – 22 MSPs

Party leader - Anas Sarwar

Scottish Green Party – 7 MSPs

Party leaders - Patrick Harvie and Lorna Slater

Scottish Liberal Democrats – 4 MSPs

Party leader - Alex Cole-Hamilton

No Party Affiliation – 1 MSP

Presiding Officer - Alison Johnstone

Take a look at the full list of current MSPs and learn more about how MSPs are elected. Results and analysis are also available for all previous elections.

Back to Members of the Scottish Parliament (MSPs)