You are viewing an archived web page captured at 09:39:46 Mar 01, 2022, which is part of the National Records of Scotland Web Archive. The information on this web page may be out of date. See all captures of this archived page. Archived web pages you visit here may leave cookies in your browser. These are not owned, controlled, or used by NRS. NRS do use cookies, including Google Analytics, to monitor site usage and performance. These can be managed in your browser settings. Find out more about cookies.
Loading media information

Website survey

We want your feedback on the Scottish Parliament website. Take our 6 question survey now

Skip to main content

Language: English / Gàidhlig


Members of the Scottish Parliament (MSPs)

Ministers and Law Officers

The First Minister is the head of the Scottish Government.

The Scottish Government is made up of Cabinet Secretaries and Ministers, who are MSPs chosen by the First Minister. It also includes 2 Law Officers (the Lord Advocate and the Solicitor General for Scotland) who do not need to be MSPs.

Cabinet Secretaries and Ministers are supported by Scottish Government staff who are civil servants.

Learn more about Cabinet Secretaries and Ministers

Watch a BSL video about the difference between the Parliament and the Government

Back to Members of the Scottish Parliament (MSPs)